ArtPrize announces jurors for 2016


GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. (WOTV) — ArtPrize has announced the 2016 panel of jurors who will decide the grand prize and category award winners.

The 8th annual ArtPrize runs Sept. 21 through Oct. 9.

The $200,000 juried grand prize will be chosen by the following panel of three jurors: Michelle Grabner, artist and professor at School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Paul Ha, Director at MIT List Visual Arts Center; and Eric Shiner, Director at The Andy Warhol Museum.

The five category awards recognize one outstanding work in the two-dimensional, three-dimensional, time-based and installation categories plus one venue for curatorial presentation. Each winner will receive $12,500.

These awards will be selected by: Tina Rivers Ryan, New York-based art historian and critic (2-D); Omar Lopez-Chahoud, Artistic Director and Curator of UNTITLED Art Fair, Miami Beach and San Francisco (3-D); Yesomi Umolu, writer and Exhibitions Curator at the Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts at the University of Chicago (Time-Based); Deana Haggag, Director of The Contemporary in Baltimore (Installation); and Steve Dietz, Founder, President and Artistic Director of Northern in Minneapolis (Outstanding Venue).

Changes have been made to ArtPrize 2016 to ensure there’s not a repeat winner like last year. Artists who have previously won the public vote grand prize or the juried grand prize will not be allowed to compete again.

Another big change this year will impact the venues. There will now be a cap of two entries from each venue that can advance to the public vote Final 20. Organizers hope this change will help more venues host finalists — essentially spreading those finalists out to more locations.


Online: ArtPrize 2016

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s